Make a donation

Awards and Recognitions

We Recognize Outstanding Achievements in our Myeloma Community

Marion State

Marion State Memorial Myeloma Canada Nursing Award 

 In 2012, Myeloma Canada created the Marion State Memorial Myeloma Canada Nursing Award to recognize excellence in myeloma nursing care. The award was created in recognition of Marion State’s extraordinary contributions to the Canadian myeloma community. A nursing graduate from Toronto General Hospital and Ryerson University, Marion was diagnosed with multiple myeloma in 1996. Two years later, she founded the Toronto & District Multiple Myeloma Support Group, the first myeloma patient support group in Canada. The Toronto & District Multiple Myeloma Support Group provided valuable support to other patients across the country. Marion lived an active life for 15 years until her passing in 2012. The award recipient is honoured with a plaque.

Past winners have been:

  • 2014: Nanette Cox (CrossCancer Institute, Edmonton)
  • 2015: Marcia Culham (Tom Baker Cancer Centre, Calgary)
  • 2016:  Tiziana Vadacchino (Jewish General Hospital, Montreal)


Aldo Del Col and Tiziana Vadacchino

Tiziana Vadacchino, Stem Cell Nurse Clinician from the Jewish General Hospital (JGH) in Montreal was the 2016 recipient of the Myeloma Canada Marion State Memorial Nursing Award. Working at the JGH for more than 18 years and for 13 years as an oncology nurse, specializing in hematopoietic stem cell transplants, Tiziana has demonstrated excellence and leadership in oncology patient care that has not gone unrecognized. Tiziana accepted the award in person on November 19th at the “Quest for the Cure” event hosted by Celgene in Toronto

Carolyn Henry Memorial TEAM Award
The Excellence in Advocacy Medal (TEAM) Award was created in 2009 to recognize outstanding achievements by patient advocates and their supporters who led successful campaigns to fight for equitable access to myeloma treatments. In 2012, the award was renamed the Carolyn Henry Memorial TEAM Award in recognition of Carolyn’s pioneering advocacy efforts. Carolyn lost her 11-year battle with myeloma in January 2012.

Past winners have been:

  • 2009: Carolyn Henry, Cindy Leder and the Ontario advocacy team
  • 2010: Marguerite Leask and the Manitoba advocacy team
  • 2011: Carol Coleman and the New Brunswick advocacy team
  • 2012: Carol Westberg
  • 2013: Ev McDowell, Jeff Parton and the London & District Multiple Myeloma Support Group
  • 2014: Canadian Association for Rare Disorders (CORD)
  • 2015: Aldo Del Col
  • 2016: Robin Sully and the Ontario Advocacy Committee
Jan Wleugle and Robin Sully

This 2016 award was presented to the Ontario Advocacy Committee, represented by Robin Sully, Jan Wleugle and the late Kirk Boyd for their outstanding efforts in helping to improve the lives of patients in Ontario.

Myeloma Canada / Cancer Research Society Operating Grant
Myeloma Canada, in partnership with the Cancer Research Society, established an annual research grant aimed at supporting the most promising Canadian myeloma research through a national competition. A scientific committee, comprised of peers, selects the best proposed project for funding.

Dr Don Morris

Myeloma Canada, in partnership with the Cancer Research Society, announced Dr Don Morris, Associate Professor at University of Calgary and Director of the Tom Baker Cancer Centre Translational Laboratory, as the recipient of the third jointly-funded Myeloma Canada/Cancer Research Society Operating Grant for his project entitled "Next generation immune treatment strategies for multiple myeloma: immune modulators in conjunction with oncolytic viral therapy". The value of the grant is $120,000 over two years.